"Poetry & Rhymes" by William Hancock

Gallery

“When I Was A Little Boy”

When I Was A Little Boy

When I was a little boy,
I couldn’t wait to be grown up.
No one telling me what to do,
And I could drive a real truck.

I wish that I was young again,
Now that I’ve grown older.
When I still believed in fairy tails,
Before life got so much colder.

No one ever prepares us,
For what truly lies ahead.
When those you love are gone,
And your all that’s left instead.

We spin, and we weave,
Like tomorrow will never come.
Never truly are we ready,
Not till all is said and done.

Our memories are all we have,
And photographs of the past.
The happy times, and the sad ones,
Finally realizing nothing lasts.

Yes, when I was a little boy,
I couldn’t wait to be grown up.
And living as a young man,
How could I have had such luck?

And now that I’m older,
I miss my little truck.. .

.
William Hancock © All Rights Reserved

……………………………………………………………………….

[ Image used:  www.morguefile.com/archive/display/685430 ]

Poem on Image:  placed by; written by  William Hancock © 2013′

11 responses

  1. "A Curious Mind"

    Reblogged this on "A Curious Mind".

    Liked by 1 person

    November 14, 2015 at 9:19 pm

  2. A wonderful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 15, 2015 at 2:27 am

    • "A Curious Mind"

      Thank You

      Liked by 1 person

      November 15, 2015 at 10:31 am

  3. A brilliant piece, Bill. So much truth; so many echo’s of the realities that we each find ourselves in.

    I always tell my children, (as did my parents, me), enjoy your childhood, it’s such a fleeting thing. I scoffed back then but now…as and adult who has successfully raised his own family, I can see what they were saying and its so true and especially today as society wants our children and grandchildren to grow up so much quicker now. No time for fun and games or adventure.

    There is a child now trapped within this crumbling shell that I call a body that so wishes it could be free again; free to live the life it knew way back then…

    Liked by 1 person

    November 17, 2015 at 7:35 am

    • "A Curious Mind"

      Darren, Thank You .. .☺

      Bill

      Liked by 1 person

      November 20, 2015 at 10:34 am

  4. I’ve nominated you for an award! The details are here, https://singlemomunschooling.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/sunshine-blogger-award/

    Like

    November 22, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    • "A Curious Mind"

      I must apologize, 😉
      I do not accept awards.
      I thank you so much, Thank You for the nomination.
      Please don’t be offended by my not accepting,
      I’m Honored, just to be nominated,
      Thank You. ☺

      Bill ♥

      Like

      November 22, 2015 at 12:34 pm

      • No problem. If you don’t mind the link being left in the award blog, maybe others can at least discover your writing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        November 22, 2015 at 12:42 pm

        • "A Curious Mind"

          No problem at all 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          November 22, 2015 at 12:44 pm

  5. Your poem actually brought tears to my eyes. I’m not a big fan in poetry even though I might dabble in it myself. But this poem is special. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 20, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    • "A Curious Mind"

      You’re very welcome, Susanne, not for tears but the Thank You and the Compliment, sorry for the tears.. .

      Liked by 1 person

      March 21, 2016 at 12:35 am

Leave a Reply

